Phonar Evaluation

Phonar was certainly a great experience! Before we started the class I wasn’t very confident on storytelling. Throughout the class I experimented with a wide variety of digital media, delivery methods, and content platforms. We heavily discussed on topics such as the future of photography in new media, the role of the photographer in the current media landscape and the impact of new technologies in storytelling. The fact that every week we had different people delivering lectures with new material, was very helpful as you get a great understanding of how the environment outside the university is.

I developed critical skills with sound recordings and using sound clips in my videos or photo-films. I used several different recorders and audio equipment to capture appropriately ambient sounds and interviews. Nearing the end of the module I had an induction in both analog and digital based radio studios, were I successfully used to record voice and foley sounds.

Although I have been a supporter of Creative Commons and use their license agreements for a while, I hadn’t experimented with using other peoples content to tell a story. I used this method on creating narratives in Uphotographable Phiction (sic), For The Remix and Post-Photographic Portrait tasks. It was actually one of the most difficult tasks to accomplish, as in order to make appropriate use of the license agreements, I had to archive in detail every image, video or sound I would use, with links to original works, the license it was shared under the creators names.

I experimented further with creating photo films using photographic archives and archival footage. Due to the nature of some of my projects I worked a lot with programming. I built several webpages from scratch to use as an exhibition space and spent most time figuring out design aspects and creative use of code. Speaking about design I made several covers (representing visuals) utilizing typography in combination with photography for my videos or projects.

For the last task, For The Remix, I experimented with a programming language/developing environment called Processing. I used Processing in combination with open sourced codes that manipulated digital images or animations in substantially different aesthetics than usual photo/graphics editing tools. I worked mostly with animated GIFs while extensively researched the formats use for artistic purposes.

In the Phonar Pitch presentation I decided to write an piece of text that speaks about human evolution and the means to evolve within a society. I think that creative work uses the same ways to produce new work. According to my feedback I should have demonstrated and structured better my arguments (more clear) and make a better connection with the initial part (evolution) with the issue of copyright (second part). I am certain I need to rehearse the speech better and I agree that my arguments were not very clear. I followed the suggestion to change order of the arguments to achieve greater impact with the audience. I have already made a new version that takes into account the issues raised during the peer review and critique.

Leave a Reply

