Picbod13 exhibition | initial concept

Alongside the weekly sketchbook tasks, you should produce a single, lens based
exhibition-ready ‘photographic piece’.
Themes contemplated within the lecture series should be addressed within your work, and the same rigour applied to the final product.* In this regard it should be a finely crafted exhibition submission, with great care being paid to its artisanal qualities.
A “Piece” may be interpreted as a single frame, or in itʼs broader sense as a collection of images (still or moving) that form a coherent narrative. It should be primarily lens based, though you should not be fettered by traditional interpretations of photographic practice and instead should look to challenge them.
The submission must exist both as a singularly unique and finely crafted physical object, as well as being infinitely replicable and readily communicable in a digital form. The student should explore and develop aspects of their final piece that exploit the full gamut of opportunities available in both the physical and virtual environments.**
In short, you are to submit to an exhibition entitled “Picturing the Body”. This exhibition will be both physical and virtual – your work should inhabit and challenge the viewerʼs experience in both environments. * ʻWhyʼ is more important than ʻHowʼ – especially when considering the effects of your work on the viewer (you can seduce them with artifice, but why? What was your motive?)
** In other words – donʼt make a picture, and then just stick a virtual version on a web gallery.

 

Back in the 2nd Picbod task I made portrait of my father and brother through a Skype conversation. My response was communicating the existence of intimacy and expression of feelings in a virtual environment. Most people using the world wide web so far have experienced one way or the other the expression of feelings between them and the person on the other end of the cable. There are endless services offering a user friendly, humanly understandable, way of communicating and one of them I use very often to keep in contact with family and friends.

Since Christmas holidays I haven’t been in contact with my friends. I can say that as much as these tools connect can do the opposite. My idea is based on recording audio and video of my conversations with as many friends as possible, as well as my family. I will be speaking in Greek as I would normally do, even though the audience of this exhibition won’t know the language. I want for people to interpret this as they wish. You might not know the language but you would have audio, video and know my relation to the person and where they are calling from.

In the exhibition I will be placing three laptops with headphones, on a table and playback the conversations in a random loop. The idea will be based a lot about the experience and so as a second idea I though I recreate my desk and use only one laptop, in order to show more of my personal side to the audience. I am confident that this is adequate information to make a point out of this installation.

I did some research and found software that can record both audio/video, so I can have quality output from the conversations.

One thought on “Picbod13 exhibition | initial concept”

Leave a Reply

