Installing Plugins

I started modifying the blog’s main features from the dashboard and downloaded a few plugins in order to make it look like my wordpress.com one. At the moment I am using Automattic’s Akismet for comment and trackback spam and Jetpack for taking advantage of some great features I have been using in wordpress.com hosted blogs. Some of its features I mainly use are the Site Stats, Publicize, Notifications and their Gravatar integration. Also I did search the endless plugins pool and found some handy plugins with social media integration. Located to the top of my sidebar you will find the Social Media Widget where I use to link to my Google+, Flickr and Vimeo pages, where a lot of content I produce leaves. Social Media Widget works by having loads of empty website presets, in groups, awaiting for a link. Once you place a link, you have the option to adjust the resolution of the icon, give it a title, alternative text and other CSS related options.

Right below, Quick Flickr Widget displays the 3 latest photographs in my photostream. It pulls them straight from the RSS feed integrated to every account. So, by coping the feed or just your profile link, setting the number of images and maybe a specific tag to display, it’s ready! Very simple, very easy to setup, had no issues so far.

Finally, the PluginChief Twitter Badge Widget which handles my twitter feed. It has all the necessary options, though it doesn’t sit very nice on this sidebar. This is a chance for me to learn a bit of CSS as I am going to modify it to suit this theme.

One thought on “Installing Plugins”

Leave a Reply

